Reading / Writing

Across Space and Time

“So I put it to the team: ‘Who is our main character?’ And no one said anything. So out of frustration I’m like, ‘Well, I guess he walks a lot, so we’ll call him Walker.’ I forced the point, thinking that someone would come back with something better. No response. So Walker went down, and it never changed. People find things and read into them and say, ‘Oh wow, you’ve put a lot of thought into this. There’s a lot of subtext and metaphor here,’ and you just go, ‘Uh, yes. I totally did that on purpose and not by accident. I am a god.'”” – Walt Williams (I think)

I came across that in a comedy article I was reading about writing the for the video game industry and I chuckled. I know that feeling. I’ve had it more than a few times when I notice things I’ve unintentionally done or my fiance points them out to me. It can be something as simple as using a repeated phrase in a clever way, or having a specific character behave in a way that is incredibly appropriate for them.

One of my favorite things about writing is that you share ideas, and it’s always such a fun little bit of the human experience to see someone you’ve never even met (possibly someone you didn’t even live in the same relative time period as) put your feelings, or a shared experience, into words so perfectly that it resonates with you. You can share ideas across thousands of miles or thousands of years. Writing something down grants your thoughts, and yourself, a certain degree of immortality. Just ask Shakespeare.

Reading and writing is such a powerful and wonderful way to live multiple lives, and experience things beyond our wildest imaginations. You can explore the darkest depths of the soul, leave behind ideas that people will read hundreds of years later and reflect on, and you can see just how much like others you are (or, in some cases, aren’t) through the characters we relate to and the experiences we share.

Anyways, if you’ve made it this far, thanks for sticking with me while I rambled on about one of the things I love. It was fun sharing my thoughts with you, and I hope you enjoyed my musings. If you’ve got any thoughts to share, leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

