Stories / Writing

An Exercise in Insanity

Gary-Busey-Quotes-5Relentlessly practicing a skill is the best way to ensure you will improve said skill.

Unfortunately, that is not always an easy thing to do. I work in game development, and if you’ve ever worked in game development you know that it can be a greedy beast. On top of contending with a greedy beast, I have various other adult responsibilities, like washing dishes, making sure I have clean underwear, preparing food, and brushing my teeth. Suffice it to say that when I get home at 8 pm to 10 pm, after working a 10 to 14  hour day, I have very little time (or drive) to write. However, not all is lost.

What began as an effort to keep the mood light as we all worked long hours for lengthy strings of consecutive days has spiraled into a way for me write a small amount every day. Initially, I was sharing Gary Busey GIFs that I felt encapsulated the day, then I began adding small stories to the GIFs. Now, whenever I have downtime at work, I’m writing short entries into the journal of a man slowly losing his sanity and self. Based upon the overall positive responses I’ve gotten at work, I thought it might be fun to share these stories with you.

Day 8:

Day 8 in GIF form.

GIF Link

Day 9:

Several members of the lab have start exhibiting…tribalistic behavior. I am beginning to worry for my safety.

GIF Link

Day 10:

We stayed pretty late last night. The extra time in the office is making me feel funny. I think it might be changing me. I think I might be getting super powers.

GIF Link

Day 11:

James keeps looking at me oddly on the drives home, and he won’t stop talking about putting out a sacrifice for the beast. I’m thinking of using the conch shell to call a meeting later. Also, my fortune cookie said I should avoid sea cliffs.

GIF Link

Day 12:

The lines between reality and fantasy are beginning to blur, and I dreamt about secret messages being written on the wall last night. I tried and tried but I couldn’t decipher them. It was all in vain. I couldn’t stop the thumb spiders from skittering out of their dens.

GIF Link

Day 13:

The thumb spiders are everywhere now. I had to retreat into the cave filled with the curmudgeon monsters. I think they think of me as some kind of king at this point, and at the very least I am treated well. Unfortunately, all there is to eat is potatos.

GIF Link

 

 

There are currently twenty four separate entries in anon’s journal. His story will end on the twenty fifth entry. Come back next week for more of the madness.

One thought on “An Exercise in Insanity

  1. Pingback: The Spiral Continues | A World in Words

Leave a Reply

