Book Reviews

Book Review : The Watcher

watcherTL;DR:

The Watcher is the finale to WJ Davies Silo trilogy. Having read the previous two books in the series, as well as the first book in his Binary Cycle series, I’m a little disappointed. The plot seemed a little flat and devoid of any real conflict to me. I feel like the overall logic of the book had several flaws, and I really feel like the main character tripped his way into a coincidental solution to his problems. It’s no fun to watch someone get an answer handed to them. I want to see them sweat and bleed for it. I want to feel proud of them when they succeed. Having read all his other published works available on Amazon I really feel like he was capable of constructing a better ending to the series. Read it if you’ve read the first two, but otherwise I wouldn’t recommend it.

The Bad:

1. When you choose to write fan fiction, you’re choosing to operate in a world not of your own creation–to operate under another person’s set of rules. WJ Davies breaks those rules in this book.

2. Continuity issues abound.The most glaring continuity issue I came across involves a simple glass of water. The main character of this story is in the middle of a heated exchange with another character. The secondary character in the scene slams his fist down on a table, causing the glass of water to fall off the table and shatter. Later in this very same scene, after the argument has ended, the main character takes a sip from the glass of water that was shattered on the concrete floor not more than 6 or 7 pages ago.

3. There are a few logical issues with the story that bothered me as well. I won’t go into depth but the chronological progression of a certain Silo and its population in the really shouldn’t have worked out the way it did.

4. The story was painfully predictable, as were its characters. After the first 10 or 15% of the book I knew how it would end and was proven correct. I really felt like he took the easy way out.

5. There are a few issues in this book that conflict with characterizations and behaviors from the first book.

The Good:

1. I really enjoyed the main character’s views on sexuality and love. Davies does a great job of not assigning the term bisexual as a descriptor and really struck a positive chord with me when he described the characters process of discovering and understanding love.

2. Overall the story was entertaining and engaging enough to keep me reading until the end.

The Meh :

1. There are character names from other series, this isn’t really a big issue, but I see it as kitschy. There is an Eddard/Ned (in Game of Thrones, also I realize he lacks the last name Stark, but with the success of that series and a unique name such as Eddard, my brain immediately defaults to Ned Stark) and a Daniel Jackson (Stargate). These names probably weren’t pulled directly from these series, but it still kind of made me twitch a little to read them.

Synopsis :

I’m going to leave you without a synopsis on this. I can’t think of a way to give you one without ruining the beginning (and best part) of the book. I guess you’ll just need to find out on your own.

 

Leave a Reply

